Lay Leaders and Professional Management

World ORT’s most senior lay leaders are the five officers of the Board of Trustees. 

Professional management is led by the Director General and his staff, based in London.

World Ort Officers

Dr. Conrad Giles | Deputy President
Dr. Conrad Giles

Dr Conrad Giles was Deputy President for three years before being unanimously elected to the presidency at the General Assembly in 2016. Dr Giles is distinguished both in his career as a paediatric ophthalmologist and in his lifelong service to the Jewish community. He was national vice-chairman of the United Jewish Appeal and president of the Council of Jewish Federations – and was part of the team that merged them to form United Jewish Communities, forerunner of today’s Jewish Federations of North America. His relationship with ORT stretches back more than 40 years to his presidency of Detroit’s Men’s ORT chapter.
He also served as a vice president of the American ORT Federation and as a member of the Executive Committees of the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee and the Jewish Agency for Israel. Since 2007 he has been assisting World ORT’s fundraising team in the United States by acting as a liaison with the Federation system.

Richard Bernstein
Richard Bernstein
Deputy President

Richard Bernstein was elected Deputy President of World ORT in 2016. A prominent corporate attorney, Mr Bernstein is a specialist in non-profit governance and operations as well as cross-border transactions, mergers and acquisitions, venture capital and private equity. His communal service includes membership of the Executive Committee and Board of Governors of the Jewish Agency for Israel and Jewish Federations of North America, Immediate Past Chair of the United Israel Appeal, and membership of the Boards of the American Joint Distribution Committee, the Van Leer Jerusalem Institute, the iCenter, the Greater Miami Jewish Federation, and American Friends of Ben Gurion University of the Negev.

Dario Werthein | Secretary
Dario Werthein
Chair Of The Board Of Trustees

Dario Werthein was elected Chair of the World ORT Board of Trustees in 2016. One of Argentina’s leading businessmen, Mr Werthein has been a supporter of ORT in his home country as well as globally for many years. Together with his family, he has contributed greatly to one of the network’s flagship schools in Buenos Aires. He has served as Chair of Tzedaka Foundation, one of Argentina’s largest social welfare organisations, is a member of the JDC’s Executive Board and has been a Board member of Vida Silvestre, an affiliate of the World Wildlife Fund.

Judy Menikoff
Secretary and Deputy Chair of the Board of Trustees

A devoted supporter of ORT for more than 35 years, Judy Menikoff was elected as Secretary and Deputy Chair of the Board of Trustees in 2016. She has served as Treasurer of World ORT (2008-2012), and Interim President of ORT America. Previously, as President of Women’s American ORT, she advanced its fundraising capabilities, reached out to new members and increased its overall effectiveness and productivity. While Chair of World ORT’s Fundraising Committee she created the organisation’s elite donors’ group, The 1880 Society. Ms Menikoff is also Assistant Treasurer of the American Section of the World Jewish Congress.

Peter Klauber

Peter Klauber became World ORT Treasurer in 2016. A former Senior Partner of Ernst and Young, Mr Klauber is now a plural entrepreneur and mentor with senior roles in fast growth, branded businesses and professional service organisations. He has more than 30 years’ experience in developing client and market relationships, advising and supporting fast growing middle market businesses and developing fast track people. In addition to his contribution to World ORT, he serves as a trustee of the Pennies Foundation and as an advisor to Debate Mate.


Dario Werthein

Simon Alberga
Gary Alexander
Robert Grey
Vivien de Gunzburg
George Gruenberg
Larry Kadis
Arturo Meriskansas
Alon Schuster
Alexei Semenov
Lawrence Wolfe


Audit & Risk Committee:
Chair: Emil Kalo
Morris Gocial
Andre Touati
Yaacov Zitser

Finance Committee:
Chair: Graham Edwards
Robert Grey
Alain Huberman
Mario Rappoport
Shimon Rupa
Yaron Tal

Constitution & Bylaws Committee
Chair: Shelley Fagel
Terry Azose
Philip Baker
Arieyeh Hoffman
Eric Osterweil

Development Committee
Chair: Gail Lanznar
Co-deputy chairs: Robert Equey and Arthur Silber
Simon Aron
Robert Taub
Bubba Urdan

Allocations Committee
Chair: Linda Kirschbaum
Robert Equey
Stuart Mac Donald
Arthur Silber
Lynne Gamsu
Carlos Glatt
Aviezer Segal

Investment Committee
Chair: Marc de Gunzburg
Jean-Marc Choblet
Peter Sussman
Ros Wagman

PR & Marketing Committee
Chair: Simon Aron

Academic Advisory Council
Co-chair: Professor Alexei Semenov
Co-chair: Professor Sidney Strauss


Director General
Avi Ganon

Chief Operating Officer
Dan Green

Chief Program Officer
Vladimir Dribinskiy

Chief Relationship Officer
Avital Govrin

Chief Financial Officer
Garry Hirth

World ORT Kadima Mada Chief Executive Officer
David Benish

Head of the World ORT Representative Office for CIS, Central Asia, Caucasian States & Baltic States
David Benish

World ORT Representative in North America
Harry Nadler

World ORT Representative in Latin America
Celeste Angus